Home > Rules


1. Eligibility

2. Legal and ethical issues

Entries should comply with all legal requirements in the country of submission and follow European agreements on copyright. They should conform to current advice from Insafe (www.saferinternet.org) on privacy, e-safety and protection of children online. Short quotations may be used if the source is clearly indicated. Pictures, film, sound and other multimedia may be used only if the owner has explicitly permitted use, or if taken from copyright-free sources.

Entries submitted to the eLearning Awards remain the property of the school/organisation or teacher. During the registration process, you will be asked to provide a Creative Commons licence for your content. Entries submitted in the eLearning Awards will be published on the eLearning Awards portal. Winning and/or short-listed entries will also be published on the EUN’s Learning Resource Exchange portal (http://lreforschools.eun.org).

Entries may not contain any statement, fact, information or quotation that may harm or diminish any person or group of people. Entries may not encourage persecution of people on the grounds of race, opinion, nationality, sex, profession or other persuasion. Nor may entries encourage crime or the breaking of laws.

European Schoolnet may decide to disqualify an entry if it breaks any of the above rules and reserves the right to disqualify projects, remove them from the project gallery or withdraw an awarded prize without giving reasons. European Schoolnet also reserves the right to adapt the rules and awards. Notification of changes will be made on the eLearning Awards website.

3. Judging

Entries are assessed online by evaluators who are experts in the use of ICT in education from different countries in Europe. Evaluators score projects according to criteria to identify a shortlist of 50 potential winners and identify candidates for special awards.

Evaluation will focus both on the project itself and on the fields filled by applicants in the registration form:

Evaluators consider the following criteria: A judging panel of respected authorities in the field of ICT in education then evaluates the short-listed entries and selects the winners. The judges’ decision is final. No discussion will be entered into.

The gallery voting tool will in no circumstances be used as a basis for judging the eLearning Awards competition. The jury panel is totally independent.

Basic information:
* Further education institutions/colleges providing education for 16-18 year olds are also eligible.

** Eligible countries: EEA/EU Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom. Other:Georgia, Israel, Switzerland. EU Candidate countries: Turkey, Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

*** Eligible languages: EU 22 official languages (we regret that we are unable to accept entries in Irish language). Other: Hebrew, Turkish, Icelandic, Norwegian.

**** Period of eligibility: 04 June – 28 September 2010


Get Adobe Flash player
Print this page
Press Pack   |   Previous years   |   Contact   |